CO2 Quality

You can't leave your homebrew in primary forever! Let's talk about storage.
Windsorbrew
Favourite Beer: All Sorts

CO2 Quality

Post by Windsorbrew »

Trying to get a straight answer on the CO2 quality topic. I work in the tooling industry and we use CO2 to fill our gas shocks. Seeing as the fire equipment store has terrible business hours that are nearly impossible for me to hit can I just use the CO2 that I have at work to fill my 5lb tank?

I keep reading mixed opinions on the subject:

A) There is no difference, gas is gas

B)CO2 sold at fire extinguisher shops have been filtered to remove any possible contaminates (by law)

C) Need to use food grade CO2 or risk off tastes, smells as well as possible contaminates such as oil, powder.

We get our gas at work from Praxair (and I do enjoy free refills!!). Any suggestions or have any of you had any issues using regular "welding grade" CO2.

Cheers
"You can't win em all, but you can drink em all"

On Tap
1) La Raison de "Saison"
2) Black Lagers Matter (black lager)
3) Uncle Dunkel

Kegged and Charging
1) Marzen
2) Starsan...
3) Starsan...

In Primary
1) Cider
2) Cider
3) Cider

In Secondary
1) It's Porter to 11 Vanilla Porter
2) Starsan
3) Starsan

ruf1
Favourite Beer: lots

Re: CO2 Quality

Post by ruf1 »

Theres lots of controversy on the quality of co2 from dif suppliers,i used to get bev grade gas at a supplier and the cost was more than fire supply shop that i use now.

When i asked the fire supply shop about the co2 they sell his response was- its good enough for pet supply stores to use for aquarium fish so it shouldnt hurt you at all.

I googled co2 quality a few years ago and there is some thoughts that bev gas is more refined and filtered of any contaminates,sulphur and oils being a couple of things of concern.

google carbon dioxide qualities and read the whole shebang.

I find no dif in the gas that currently buy from fire supply outlet,no off tastes that i can detect.