Help from the beer Gods

Just getting started out in the world of homebrewing? Ask your questions here!
Caveanimal
Favourite Beer: all

Help from the beer Gods

Post by Caveanimal »

First off I would like to say Hi to all.

I am new to brewing and have done 2 batches. The last one was a Coopers Canadian blond. I boiled 2 gallons of water and put it into my sanitized carboy. than I proceeded to make a yeast starter and covered it, I than added 3 gallons of water to my brew pot and brought it to a full boil, removed it from the heat and added the can of syrup and stirred it to completely mix it. Than I returned the pot to the stove and brought it to a full boil, and hot break. than I let it boil for about 15 min. After that I brought down the temperature down to about 100F and added it to my carboy. Than waited till the temp was down to about 85F than I added my yeast and poured it back and forth to get more oxygen in it. after this I stored the carboy in about a 66F room. It started to ferment the next day. after it was almost done fermenting completely I realized that I forgot my corn sugar, so I did a little more reading and read that it was possible to add the sugar and stir the bottom of the carboy to stir up the yeast in the bottom and let it start fermenting more. I did that and after about 2 weeks and no sign of any more co2 coming off of it I took a reading, and it was about 2 percent alcohol and tastes really bitter. is there any thing that I can do to save my beer or should I start over....

Oh and just to let you know I used starsan on everything to keep it all sanitized no matter what I did and boiled everything.

Just don't know what to do

Reignman
Favourite Beer: Pilsners

Re: Help from the beer Gods

Post by Reignman »