I´m new and price ideas

Just getting started out in the world of homebrewing? Ask your questions here!
ravelperez11

I´m new and price ideas

Post by ravelperez11 »

Hi everyone, im new at the home brewing hobby, i never done it before and i dont have any of the kits, i checked some kits for sale online..
The prices that i found (including recipe for 5 or more gallons) and bottles and caps are between 170$ to 200$,
Is it a decent price? im thinking about getting them, nd just making sure they are not out of price range..

Student , no money to buy first kit :s donations for beer kit.. lol :)

gmac

Re: I´m new and price ideas

Post by gmac »

What's in the kit? If you want to do extract beer on the kitchen stove I don't think it will cost that much.

I wouldn't buy bottles unless you think you're really going to get into this. Save up 2L pop bottles (get your friends to keep them for you) and wash and sanitize them. Should save you some money. Of course, then you have to drink 2L at a time but then again, you need to repay those friends for saving bottles for you...

Oh, and before you brew anything go get a copy of John Palmer's "How to Brew" and read it. It's a great place to start and will serve you for a long time as you become more and more obsessed, er um I mean, enthused about homebrewing.

ravelperez11

Post by ravelperez11 »

hmm think about it.

Thanks! :)

Jack

Post by Jack »

Try and find a local wine/beer making shop. I bought a complete starter kit for $50 and $20 for the extract kit.
I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.

ravelperez11

Post by ravelperez11 »

gmac wrote:What's in the kit? If you want to do extract beer on the kitchen stove I don't think it will cost that much.