Complete newbie, needing info!

Just starting out? Find answers to commonly asked homebrewing questions here!
KingCharles55
Favourite Beer: Witbier

Complete newbie, needing info!

Post by KingCharles55 » 1 year ago

Hello everyone!

I am brand new to this forum and completely new to the hobby of homebrew, but I am passionate about beers and looking for a fun new hobby that incorporates my love of science (being a BSc. Biochem).
I will explain my situation here and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I live in Edmonton Alberta, in a 40 year old wood frame apartment with no AC, 2 bedrooms with both indoor and outdoor storage rooms.
Space may be an issue, temperature control is also a big issue as we are on the 3rd floor and need to keep our fans running all summer long to not bake to death.
I spoke to several friends of mine, 2 of which own restaurants they started from simple homebrew hobbies themselves. They suggested skipping the kits and going straight to all-grain.
I am a big fan of Witbier, Hefeweizens, IPA and Double IPA, Tripels (La Fin Du Monde is my current favorite beer) and Red Ales.

What I would like to know is what online resources or books are recommended for the complete beginner and what equipment would work well for a smaller operation? Are there any sites or posts on this forum that contain pre-made equipment lists to price out?

Thanks for the help!

brhenrio
Favourite Beer: Stouts

Re: Complete newbie, needing info!

Post by brhenrio » 1 year ago

Google how to brew by jim palmer. It is considered the bible for new brewers. You can buy latest version or read a free online veraion which is good enough.

I agree with your buddies, skip the extract kits, but i would still buy recipe kits. In edmonton the winning wines plus in the lendrum shopping centre is a great place to buy. (Im two hours northeast).