Primary/Secondary Confusion

Just starting out? Find answers to commonly asked homebrewing questions here!
baldguy80
Favourite Beer: Cream Ale

Primary/Secondary Confusion

Post by baldguy80 » 4 years ago

Hi folks, I'm brand new at this homebrew thing, and have been reading this forum as fastidiously as possible. (This is my first post too!) I'm a little confused though, (and no, it doesn't take much).

I've got my first brew in my primary, (for a whole 24 hours now!) which is simply a Brew Canada Pilsner + 1 kg. of dextrose. Reading the instructions that came with the can says that I should be moving my wort to a secondary on day five. Buuuuut, reading here the consensus is; don't bother with the secondary. Should I just save my newbie brew the trouble and simply wait until my airlock is finished bubbling and my gravity is stable??

I know it's just a boring extract kit, but I don't want to screw it up! (My expectations are pretty low: just a drinkable first brew that my wife doesn't hate so she'll let me buy more stuff and experiment more!)

Thanks in advance for your input!
baldguy80 is waiting impatiently for it to be done...

Mr_Tastyfish
Favourite Beer: Homebrewed beer

Re: Primary/Secondary Confusion

Post by Mr_Tastyfish » 4 years ago

I don't use a secondary fermentor, and really wouldn't consider it to be a necessary step for an extract-based brew. You should be just fine leaving it where it is until your gravity readings have been stable for a few days. After that, any secondary aging can take place in bottles or keg.

oro
Favourite Beer: one I am drinking

Post by oro » 4 years ago

Welcome to brewing

Brew Canada is a good kit beer - used them for years

Leave in the primary for 3 weeks, transfer to a clean bucket to add your batch carbonating sugar(assuming your bottling). Bottle up let sit 2 weeks in a warm area to carbonate.
Beer has food value, food has no beer value...

Goulaigan
Favourite Beer: Mine

Post by Goulaigan » 4 years ago