Newbie from New Brunswick

New to Canadian Homebrewers? Tell us a little about yourself and your homebrewing setup!
NBBrewer
Favourite Beer: IPA

Newbie from New Brunswick

Post #1 by NBBrewer » 10 months ago

I'm new to all grain home brewing although I have recently hacked a stout kit and an IPA kit. The stout was very tasty and the IPA is bottle conditioning. I have a background in chemistry and career experience in the lab and as a Quality assurance quality control coordinator. I'm starting small and I have a grain mill that I will try to hook a motor up to and I am currently shopping for a kettle. I think an electric element, temp probe and ball valve along with a hop spider and false bottom is where I am headed. 10 gallons seems to be the size I am looking at getting. Brewing with a bag will be what I do until I get this additional equipment.

Here is a recipe I am contemplating. Let me know what you think.

Dean’s Black IPA
1. 5 lbs(2268 grams) 2 row malt
2. 1 lbs(454 grams) caramel malt 80L
3. 0.4 lb(182 grams) black patent malt
4. 0.4 lbs(182 grams) chocolate malt
5. 0.5 lbs(227 grams) quick oats
6. 1 oz cascade hops 60 min
7. 1 oz cascade hops 20 min
8. 1 oz cascade hops 10 min
9. 1 oz dry hop
10. Heat 2 pots one with 9.2 litres (2.43 gallons mash at 156 degrees F) one for sparge with 9.2 litres (2.43 gallons at 168 degrees F)
11. Alternatively mash more grain and add water to primary fermentor until volume is at 3.17 Litres and OG is at 1.061
12. Keep the mash at 152 to 154 degrees for 1 hour.
13. Sparge grain bag at 168 degrees with and boil for 1 hour
Batch Size 3.17Gallons
Boil Size 4.00Gallons @ 60 min
OG1.061
FG1.015
Color 42.9° SRM
Efficiency75%
Bitterness 61.7 IBU (tinseth)
BG:GU 1.00
Alcohol 5.9% ABV
Calories 207 per 12oz
brhenrio
Favourite Beer: Stouts

Re: Newbie from New Brunswick

Post #2 by brhenrio » 10 months ago